Bangladesh Cricket released a 14-man roster for the upcoming three-match T20I series against Ireland, which begins on March 27. Rishad Hossain and Jakar Ali Anik are the two new (uncapped) members of Bangladesh’s T20I team to face Ireland. Afif Hossain and Nurul Hasan were not included in the team managed by Shakib Al Hasan. The three T20 matches will be contested at Chittagong on March 27, 29, and 31.

The team has two players in the Squad

Anik has played in 49 domestic Twenty20 matches, scoring 587 runs at an average of 20.96. The 25-year-old wicketkeeper-batsman scored 175 runs at an average of 25 in the Bangladesh Premier League 2023 for the winning Comilla Victorians. Rishad Hossain, on the other hand, has not participated in a local Twenty20 match since 2021, although he has been a regular net bowler for the Bangladesh national side.

In an official statement issued by Bangladesh Cricket, chief selector Minhajul Abedin stated, “Zekar was picked in the squad based on his domestic achievements.” He has performed well for the A team as well. He stated, “Because we’re playing Ireland, we’d want to see Rishad. The management also want a runner, so we selected him. I hope that new gamers will seize this chance.

Bangladesh T20 team against Ireland:

Shakib Al Hasan (Captain), Liton Das, Ronnie Talukdar, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Tauheed Hridoy, Shamim Hossain, Mehdi Hasan Miraj, Nasum Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmood, Taskin Ahmed, Shorful Islam, Rishad Hussain and Jakar Ali Anik